FAQS

What is a dedicated Memory Collect website?
Memory Collect is the perfect gift for anyone who has something to celebrate! It’s a totally new way of gathering memories and celebrating the important people in our lives. What exactly is it?

A Memory Collect site is a webpage where invited users can upload photos, videos, written stories, scanned documents, and other types of memorabilia to a site that celebrates a person or milestone (like an anniversary, retirement, big birthday or memorial).

Memory Collect websites can be public or private. You decide. Either way, anyone you choose to celebrate with a Memory Collect site can look at a lifetime of memories any time they want to. You can even turn the site into a printed book they can put out on their coffee table!

If you’ve heard, “Have I ever told you about that time when…” just once, then there are guaranteed to be dozens–hundreds–of more stories from our lives worth sharing.

Memories fade. People forget. Life goes on. But, with Memory Collect you can give the gift of memories. And we think that’s pretty special!

How do I create an online memorial site?
In four easy steps, anyone with even the least bit of tech savvy can create a beautiful, custom tribute website. For your convenience, you can preview the site before committing to a payment plan. First, click on one of the many “Create Site” buttons. Once you’re on the Create Site page:

1. Life Event Category: Pick the life event category (options include birthday, marriage, graduation, anniversary, retirement, memorial, and other)

2. Customize Content: Choose a template, and then customize the types of content you want on the site. Getting people to open up is easier with our “Fun Facts” feature, a set of pre-written questions that help jumpstart conversations. Or, you can create your own custom questions.

3. Define Site Options: Customize your site features and define how your guests will interact with your celebration site. For example, will guests be allowed to contribute photos? How about video clips? What about a charitable donation? Do you want a unique website address? As the site creator, you get to decide if the online tribute site is public or private.

4. Create an Account: In order to save and preview your new site, you’ll need to create a host account. Creating an account is free and easy. Before publishing your site and inviting friends to contribute, we will request a $29.99 fee for site usage and to help with site operational and maintenance expenses.

What should I do if I forgot my password?
If you have forgotten your password, please click on the LOG IN/SIGN UP button at the top of the page, then click the “Reset Password?” link found directly under the LOG IN NOW button. There you will be redirected to a LOST PASSWORD page where you can enter the email address you used to sign up for our service and we will send you a link to create a new password. If you do not remember the email address or still have problems, please contact us at support@memorycollect.com.

How much does it cost?
Memory Collect believes in celebrating people and “PAYING IT FORWARD.” During the process, we will request a $29.99 fee for site usage and to help with site operational and maintenance expenses. However, if your financial situation impedes your decision to utilize Memory Collect, complimentary funding from Memory Collect is sometimes granted to users who meet certain requirements. To learn more about these requirements, please send your story and specific reasoning to support@memorycollect.com. In addition, we will provide a Memory Collect site free-of-charge for a year to celebrate anyone who has honorably served our country. It’s our small way to thank our service men and women for their dedication to protecting our great country. Simply provide their military information in the “Create Site” form. You can see more pricing details here.

Can I make my tribute website Private?
Yes, your support, your privacy, and your trust are very valuable to us. At any time you can log in and make your site private by clicking on the edit site button (pencil icon) and scrolling down to the Site Options section. If you set the tribute site to private, only invited guests will be able to contribute to your site. All non-invited guests will be given the option to request access from you, the site owner/host, before being able to view or contribute.

How do people view my online tribute site?
By creating a memorial site you get to choose what the URL is. An example URL is “www.memorycollect.com/yournameofsite” where “yournameofiste” is whatever you choose it to be. Note: “www.memorycollect.com/” will always be added to whatever name you choose.

How do I edit my website after I created it?
Use your username and password to log in to your account. From the My Account page, your website will be listed under the “My Sites Created” header. Click on the name of the site to edit the settings you initially defined in the Create Site process. To add/edit your story or add pictures/videos, click on the Edit Site button (pencil icon). From the My Account page, you can also invite friends and family (person+ icon), view the site (square with swoosh icon), delete your site (x icon), and order a printed book (book icon).

Do friends and family pay to leave a message?
No. There is no cost to friends or family to leave a message.

Do friends and family need to “Sign-Up” to leave a message?
Yes. Friends and family will need to create an account so they can contribute to the host’s site. The information we ask for includes first name, last name, email address, username and password. We will NOT sell or use your friends or family email addresses for ANY reason. (See privacy policy)

How long does the virtual site stay posted?
Your tribute site will remain active for 365 days after the initial sign-up.

Can the Host remove and/or edit a users post/response?
Yes and no. Hosts can delete guest messages but are not able to edit them.

Can Guests upload photos?
Yes, provided the Host has selected that as an option when they create the site. All photos will be visible in the Photo section and Guests will be able to add comments.

Can all Guests view other messages?
Yes. It’s important to note that all guests can see all messages.

Are there limits on who I can invite to view the website?
You can invite anyone who has a valid email address.

What should I do if I see an offensive message on a party site?
If you feel a message that has been posted is offensive, please contact the party Host. It is the responsibility of the party Host to manage the website and users. If the Host does not remove the offensive message you can report it to the Memory Collect support staff at reportabuse@memorycollect.com.

How many messages can I write?
Guests can write one story/message per account.

What is the maximum length of messages?
Notes can be up to a maximum of 10,000 characters. You will receive a warning that you need to reduce the size of your note if you try to post a note that is too large.

How can I remove a message?
Hosts have complete control over their website, and can delete messages provided by Guests by signing into their account, browsing to the message, then clicking the DELETE button in the upper right corner of the message. Guests can only edit/delete messages they’ve provided.

Where should I go if I need more help or have additional questions?
If you are having any technical difficulties or have further questions, please feel free to contact our support staff by clicking here.

How can I contact the Memory Collect Team?
Please email us at support@memorycollect.com or use the form on the Contact Us page.